[Thumb Up America] from Nevada to Utah

Utah is where it feels the most lonely, most empty and most stunning. It’s a state that was so hard to get around that I cursed and loved. It also has this endless stretch of open land and just spreads out miles and miles beyond my horizon and I had some “fundamentally transforming” ( – Erickson) moments even though most of the time I was just tired of being hopeless. It’s also the place I got to know the weirdest weirdos. Drug dealers boob sisters and such. And by the way, the drive from Nevada to Salt Lake City is one of the best things I’ve ever experienced. We were driving into the fabulous Utah sunset, the great salt lake flat spread out on two sides reflecting a million pretty colors. The two hour lecture I endured on the car is definitely well worth it.

About this entry